Interview with Mark Tyler

Mark Tyler is an ex Luton Town and Peterborough goalkeeper who now works as a coach for Peterborough.

How did you get into football?

It was my big brother to be honest. He used to draw a chalk goal on the wall and he used to put me in goal as I was the youngest. We used to go out there every day and practice until he couldn’t score past me. I also played for my local team and it then went on from there.

Who has been the most influential person in your career?

Probably my dad. He followed me whatever I did and has watched me numerous times. I always ask him after a game if I can do anything better and he gives his opinion.

Did you have an idol in football when you were younger and if so why?

Yeah because I’m from Norwich it was Brian Gunn. I used to stand behind the goal on a milk crate as I was too small to see otherwise. Every home game I watched him and now I speak to him quite regularly which is quite a good feeling.

Why did you move to Luton at the start of the 2009/10 season when they had just been relegated to the Conference?

It was a great club and I wanted to play first team football again because I wasn’t getting that at Peterborough. Also I thought we would go straight back up but obviously it didn’t turn out like that!

How quickly did you feel part of the team after you signed?

Obviously you go away for pre season, on a trip and do a bit of team bonding and so I got to know everyone straight away which you can that take onto the pitch.

How demoralising was it to fail in the play offs for three consecutive seasons, from 2009-2012?

It was gutting! Obviously the York one in the semi final, then the final at Manchester City’s ground that we lost on penalties and we hadn’t conceded against Wimbledon all of that season and obviously York again at Wembley and the offside goal. However that’s football and you’ve got to get on with it.

Did you feel the team mentality was different in the 2013-14 season (when Luton got promoted) than in other year?

Yeah definitely. We had good characters in the team, good old pros and you could never be complacent. Obviously Andre Gray, never started that season, then gets his chance and scores 30 goals so as I said you could never be complacent.

What was the best match you played in a Luton shirt?

Obviously my debut at Wimbledon, I didn’t realise what fanatic fans we had until we scored that day and they were standing five metres behind the goal. However it’s probably the FA Cup game against Norwich. Obviously my home team, we won 1-0 and we took 4,500 fans it was brilliant.

Why did you decide to go back to Peterborough in 2016?

A few things. It’s where I’m from, I still live there. It was opportunity to coaching and footballs a short career so you have to look to the future and plan ahead about what you want to do.

What is the most memorable moment in your career?

Making my debut when I was 17, playing at both Wembleys (old and new) and obviously playing for clubs like Peterborough and Luton you can play at grounds like Stamford Bridge and Carrow Road which is amazing.

What do you aspire to do in the future?

Well hopefully I can be a good coach and a successful coach. I want to bring someone through the academy and into the first team at Peterborough and it hasn’t been done since I’ve been at the club so to do that would be nice.

Huge thanks to Mark for participating in the interview.

One thought on “Interview with Mark Tyler

Leave a Reply

