Interviews with Tom Youngs

Tom Youngs is a hooker for Leicester Tigers and England. He has played 28 times for his country and also has competed at the 2015 World Cup. He has won two Premierships with the club.

1. How did you get into rugby?
I started playing at my local rugby club called Holt R.F.C at the age of 6. Rugby has always been a big part of our family.

2. Who has been the most influential person in your career so far?
A lot of people have helped me so much on my journey so it’s very hard to single out just one person.

3. Right at the start of your debut with Leicester you broke your leg! How hard was it to deal with the mixture of emotions that day?
It was not a great start for me. I was 18 and it was on Boxing Day, all the family were there and then that happened 15 minutes into the game. I think it’s very important when you get a bad injury you have to set new goals for how you are going to get back stronger and better than ever and that is what I did to get over the thought of being out for a long time. I used it as a positive of how much better I could get at the game in that time.

4. How did it feel to be selected for the Lions tour in 2013?
It was an amazing feeling and something I will always treasure close to my heart.

5. You started your career as a Centre before switching to a Hooker. What were the main deciding factors in that decision?
In some regards I was limited as a centre and as a hooker I could go to the next level so it was important to get the right plan in place of how I was going to make the change. Once we had that it was about me committing to it 100% and that’s what I did.

6. Do you prefer playing Centre or Hooker?
Hooker 100%. I feel a lot more involved in the game and I enjoy the physical side of the game, as a hooker you are always in thick of it.

7. Do you think your career would’ve been any different if your brother Ben and dad Nick hadn’t played?
No I think if you have the skill but probably more importantly you have the mindset you can get to where you want to get to. Dad has always just let me and Ben get on with it, just there to support not to push and demand things from us.

8. What is your favourite memory in an England shirt?
Beating New Zealand 38-21 in 2012 at Twickenham. It was my 4th cap and something I will never forget.

9. What is your biggest achievement at Leicester?
Winning the Premiership twice was probably the best. I would love to win the European Championship with Leicester one day.

10. Who is the player you have enjoyed playing alongside the most in your career?
I’d have to say my brother, it’s so nice to do all this with him.
11. How did you feel when you were named as captain of Leicester?
Again a massive honour to lead the club I love! I was just over the moon about it and I still am.

12.What is the best stadium you’ve played at in terms of atmosphere?
I love Welford Road and Twickenham but the one which stands out is the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff, just an amazing place to play.

13. Do you have any pre match superstitions or routines?
No I don’t have anything. A lot of people do have some but I don’t. I like to stay nice and relaxed and enjoy the occasions!

14. How do you relax away from rugby?
I love my farming so that’s how I get away from the pressures of rugby. I love getting on my tractor!

15. What would you like to achieve in the future?
I would love to win the European Champions Cup.

 

Massive thanks to Tom for participating in the interview and making it all possible.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Interviews with Tom Youngs

  1. Another great interview Alex.
    When are we going to see you on the youtube – 3min summary of the interview and what’s coming next …. and don’t forget to like and subscribe 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

