2015/16 Football Predictions

With the 2015/16 football season coming to a close in a few weeks, it’s crunch time for teams at both ends of the Premier League table and teams in the European cups and FA Cup. Here are my predictions for the end of the season.

Premier League title:

Despite their slight ‘hiccup’ today drawing 2-2 with West Ham after scoring a controversial late penalty, I believe Leicester will complete the incredible story and win the Barclays Premier League. Today Leicester started off well with a goal from (who else) Jamie Vardy but then the goalscorer was sent off after a second yellow card. Andy Carroll then scored an 85th minute penalty before Aaron Creswell looked to have won it for the Hammers with a goal a minute later. However, Leonardo Ulloa scored a 90+5 minute penalty to give the Foxes an eight point lead in the title race. I think Spurs will come 2nd (they have a game in hand over Leicester) but the draw against Liverpool pretty much finished the title race off. If they had won that game before winning their game in hand they’d be only three points off the Foxes and in with a real chance of the title. For me now it’s Leicester all the way!

Premier League European spots:

I’ve already said that I think Leicester will come 1st with Spurs 2nd but where will the other two places go?. The teams realistically left in the race are Man City, Man United, Arsenal and West Ham. I think Man City will come 3rd as they are really coming into good form at the right time in the season. Arsenal however have slipped behind the Blues due to their horrendous form in the last seven games and I think for the first time in many years Arsenal will not make the top four. The team that will come 4th, Man United! Yes the Man United team that have had a rubbish season and the Man United team that play boring football! They have snuck up behind all their rivals and now sit very nicely in 5th place only four points behind Arsenal. Unfortunately despite their incredible season I don’t think West Ham will get into the European spots as they don’t quite have enough games to close the gap.

The Cup Competitions:

There are two English teams left in Europe. Liverpool in the Europa League and Man City in the Champions League. If Liverpool win the Europa League then 4th place will be pushed into the Europa League and only the top three plus Liverpool will go through to the Champions League. I think Liverpool will beat Villareal in the Semi Final and then see off either Shakter Donetsk or Sevilla in the final. This would mean even though I’ve tipped Man United to 4th, I don’t think they will get Champions League football. As for Man City I feel Real Madrid have too much quality for them and will go through to the final. I think Bayern will beat Atletico Madrid and then beat Real Madrid in the final. As for the FA Cup, I’ve already mentioned Man United are in good form and I think they will sneak through against Everton in the Semi Final before beating Crystal Palace, who I think will beat Watford, in the final.

So those are my predictions for the end of the 2015/16 season of football. Do you agree? Comment your predictions!

 

 

12 thoughts on “2015/16 Football Predictions

  1. Can’t disagree with you Alex about Arsenal. Wenger must retire at the end of the season if we ever want to win the league again.

    Like

    1. I don’t think the gunners fans will be happy to hear this but I don’t think he’ll get sacked. I don’t think he’s going to go by himself for a while either, his skin is far too thick!!!

      Like

  2. I like your analysis Alex, although I may not agree with your predictions. I do feel that this has been one of the most interesting seasons in a long time. I personally think Arsenal have enough to keep them ahead of LVG’s snoozefest that are Manchester United. If Man City don’t win the Champions League then even if Liverpool win the Uefa fourth place will still get a Champions League place next season, as England will be awarded 5 places as the UEFA place is a bonus one.

    Like

  3. As an Arsenal fan, it disappoints to read a report which concludes they will fail to reach the Champions League for the first time in nearly 16 years. However, I do agree with you, and its a shame that the beautiful football of Arsenal will fall to the boring football of Man Utd.

    With Vardy now risking a 2 game ban rather than the original single match, how will this influence the current leaders? Can they win the league with Vardy suspended for potentially 50% of the remaining matches?

    Like

    1. It is a shame a team with football as boring as Manchester United’s will surpass the style of play that Arsenal have. I think Leicester will struggle a bit but seeing as they’ve just won 4-0 I still think they’ll win the league!

      Like

    1. I think Middlesborough will get promoted, however I believe with the goals of Andre Gray, Burnley I’ll beat them to the title! Due to their recent form I think Sheffield Wednesday are an outside bet to go up through the play offs but I think Hull will be the other team to get to the Prmier League!

      Like

  4. I certainly hope Leicester can hold on for the title, hope you’re right about that. What about the option that Man City finish 5th in the league and therefore need to win the Champions League to qualify again. This could result in them playing Pep Guardiola’s Bayern Munich in the final. Where do you think Pep’s allegiance would lie knowing he is being brought into Man City to win in Europe?

    Like

Leave a Reply

